A Sit Down with Steven Hammond

imageA little about the writer…

An author and artist from Clovis, California. He enjoy’s spending time with his wife and family.  Steven fell into the world of scifi/fantasy at an early age and credit the works of Irwin Allen, J.R.R. Tolkien, Syd Hoff, Gene Rodenberry, Berkeley Breathed, George Lucas, Frank Frazetta, and Tomoyuki Tanaka as the greatest influences of his writing career.  Currently he is at work on the next installment of “The Rise of the Penguins Saga”, as well as a variety of somewhat eclectic short-stories.

When he’s not slapping at the keyboard like an enraged Siamang, while Buster Dog curiously looks on, your can find him at the studio performing similar actions with paint and brush, or working at the ballpark. He says that he is forever grateful for each and every person who has taken the time to read his stories and hopes that his readers will continue to enjoy future work.

Information and exclusive content from The Rise of the Penguins Saga can be found at www.riseofthepenguins.net.

Q & A with Steven Hammond (SH)

  • A brief synopsis of your books

(SH) The Rise of the Penguins Saga follows the journeys of an unlikely group of four penguins who were first brought together by a questionable war against the humans. Facing betrayal, loss, and the horrors of war, they form a tight bond of friendship, and together, hope to change the fate of their kind.

  • Would you like to do a book giveaway?

(SH) Yes, book 5 “Order of Kings”. The story is the best stand alone in the series so far.

 

  • What moment in your life did you know you wanted to become a writer?

(SH) I can’t recall a particular moment where I said, “this is what I want to do.” I used to write stories nobody ever saw when I was a kid, mainly in high school. I was mostly a solitary child and that afforded me the time to play with toys and create adventures which would continue for days. That internal, but imaginative time probably trained me to do this. And really, I just started writing one day and haven’t stopped. It wasn’t like it was a conscious choice.

  • Do you write every day?

(SH) I would love to say that I write every day. But the reality is life doesn’t allow for that. I write as often as possible. I’ll sometimes write for hours straight, and at other times I’ll jot some notes down. However, I do something related to my writing every single day of the year. Whether it be actively writing, editing, making my way through the never ending, but necessary cluster of social media, or trying to think of new ways to have people know I have books out there, I never stop working at this.

  • Do you write in a quiet place at home, or do you prefer noise, like a coffee shop?

(SH) I wrote my first book in a stack of notebooks while on breaks at a manufacturing job I had. I worked a lot of swing and graveyard shifts, so I had time to write with no bosses around. I prefer to write at home though where I can be alone with the characters running around inside my head. Noise doesn’t really bother me, as long as it isn’t stuff like the neighbor’s dog barking.

  • Tell us about the genre of your book and a brief synopsis.

(SH) My books fall into the category of modern fantasy. They take place in the real world and the events are as they would be if it were to really happen. They skirt the edge of sci-fi, but not in a Star Trek way, more in a Michael Crichton sense.

  • Where do you see yourself in twenty years from now?

(SH) Twenty years? Honestly I’ll be fortunate if I see twenty more years. I was able to write full time, solely because I had heart issues that kept me from doing my job. So twenty years might be a stretch, especially because of pizza. Mmm…pizza. But if I do make it to 2035, I see myself having completed thirty or more books and living someplace nice and quiet, and far away from dirty air and extremely hot summers, with a bunch of dogs. Or having completed thirty or more books, and eating generic rice crispies for breakfast, lunch and dinner, while living in a yurt, because…you know, writing doesn’t really pay that well.

Tell your fans what are your favorite:

  • Movie(s)

(SH) There may be too many to list. Although I have to say the original Star Wars would be my favorite. I think Ex Machina would be favorite from the past couple of years.

  • Music:

(SH) The Beatles, Foo Fighters, Led Zeppelin, Yoko Kanno. This could turn into quite a long list.

  • Authors:

(SH) J.R.R. Tolkien, Richard Adams, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Timothy Zahn, Kevin J. Anderson, Dean Koontz, Mark Twain, Willa Cather, Jules Verne, H.G. Wells. Shall I continue?

  • Artists:

(SH) Caravaggio, Cezanne, Richard Diebenkorn, J M W Turner

  • Travel destinations:

(SH) Any art museum and natural history museum.

  • Has your wife and children been a big support?

(SH) My wife has been super supportive. We’ve been married since 2012 and I know I wouldn’t have been able to do half of what I’ve done without her. Even though my kids have grown and have busy lives, they always encourage and support me.

  • Any words of encouragement regarding writing to your fans?

(SH) If any of you want to pursue a writing career remember this: from the first moment you write your first word to your first story, you are no longer an aspiring author. You are an author, a writer, a scribe from that moment on. If you work during the day; you are a writer with a day job. Don’t forget that. And regardless of success, enjoy every minute of it.

  • Thank you Steven, it has been a pleasure.

(SH) Thank you for having me, Linda.

 

About Linda Lee Kane

An author of seven published books that can be viewed on my website www.lindaleekane8.com. I have an adult book, Bottoms Up and Clyde, Lost and Now Found books for release in 2017.
This entry was posted in UnFiltered Material. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Sit Down with Steven Hammond

  1. Met Steve twice since November …. Super interview and viewpoints. Am always amazed at series authors, the mass of their works, and their age and youth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

