Linda Thorne, Author

portrait 300Linda Thorne began pursuing her true passion, writing, in 2005. Since then, she has published numerous short stories in the genres of mystery, thriller, and romance. Her debut novel, Just Another Termination, is the first in a planned series of mysteries that tell the story of Judy Kenagy, the first career human resources manager to turn sleuth. Like her lead character, Thorne is a career human resources manager. She has worked in the HR profession in Arizona, Colorado, Mississippi, California, and now, Tennessee. She holds a BS degree in business from Arizona State University and has completed a number of graduate-level courses in her field.

LINK to Linda’s Amazon Page

Just Another TerminationJUST ANOTHER TERMINATION (JUDY KENAGY MYSTERIES)(VOLUME 1) by Linda Thorne

At long last, she lands a job with a good employer, but the trouble is just beginning… Human resources manager Judy Kenagy hopes her days of running from bad bosses and guilt-ridden memories are over. But alas, she’s barely settled in when a young female employee is found shot to death, spinning her new workplace into turmoil. Small-town police chief, Carl Bombardier solicits Judy’s help in her role as the company’s HR Manager. While working with Judy, he shares his fanatical interest in a twenty-five-year-old double homicide he believes is linked to her last and worst bad boss. To make matters worse, the trusted assistant of her monster ex-boss starts showing up, keeping the unwanted connection going. When the pesky trusted assistant turns up murdered, Judy learns there’s a connection with the shooting death of the employee. She starts sleuthing at the crime scene and stumbles upon an important piece of evidence. Can she solve all of the murders with this single find? If she does, will she finally be freed from the demons of her past? Or are things not as they seem?

Welcome to my Coffee Chat Room by Linda Lee Kane

First off thank you for joining me Linda. I’m brewing coffee, would you like a cup before we begin the interview? What do you take in it, or do you prefer tea?

Thank you, yes, I prefer coffee. Mornings only, but every morning and with crème. No sugar.

  1. Please tell the readers about your background, where you’re from and when did you start your writing career.

I lived the longest part of my life in Phoenix, Arizona, but in my thirties I started moving around. When I landed on the Mississippi Gulf Coast, I got my first taste of the Deep South and was forever hooked. I currently live in the greater Nashville area of Tennessee.

  1. Where did you get the idea for your book, it’s very creative and imaginative?

Part of the plot came from a something that happened when I worked at a manufacturing plant in Denver, Colorado. A young woman, a tenured employee, did not show up or call in one day. The person she reported to asked a co-worker to check in on her. She was found murdered. The case was never solved. The rest of the story came from a combination of my own experiences, fictionalized, and other things I’d heard or read about. Ideas are everywhere.

  1. Where did you come up with your characters names? Were they people you knew?

A couple of minor characters’ last names are variations of names of people I knew of when I worked at the setting in Mississippi. I took most out of phone books or from online Southern or Cajun names. The sound and feel of the name had to fit the character. Carl Bombardier is the police chief. His name fits – at least to me. And yes, I had a boss with on the Mississippi Gulf Coast who fits this character in a number of ways, but his name was different.

  1. How do you get inspired to write? Do you write daily? What’s your routine for writing (morning, afternoon, evening)? Do you set out to write a certain number of words each day?

I used to spend long hours over the weekend working on my second book, but right now writing is pure helter skelter. Before my book was released at the end of August, the company where I work started restructuring and had to jump into book promotion for the released book. Now, I’m lucky to write some over a weekend. I don’t plan any time, because I have so little of it. This is a mistake I need to resolve soon or I’ll never finish it. If someone has suggestions, I’m listening.

  1. Tell the readers about your book, I know I have truly enjoyed reading it.

Judy Kenagy is running from bad bosses and guilt-ridden memories from her forced role in a wrongful termination that prompted a suicide. She thinks her running days are over when she finds a good employer, but she just gets settled in when an employee is found shot to death. Her workplace is in turmoil and bad bosses start returning. She doesn’t know how to get out of this vicious cycle, so she turns sleuth. She’s convinced herself that if she helps solve the case of the murdered employee, she’ll be freed from the demons of her past.

  1. What are you currently working on, in other words, give us a sneak peek about your next novel?

In my second book, A Promotion to Die For, Judy takes a promotion that relocates her back to a place she lived almost thirty years ago. It’s also a place where a random phone call in the middle of the night scared off someone who’d come to kill her. That someone went down the street and murdered another young woman instead. The case was never solved. Judy gets involved, unaware the murderer is still in the area.

  1. What’s the best thing you have come away with from being an author?

Being able to put my thoughts and feelings into your story.

  1. What’s your advice to aspiring writers?

It’s something people often give up on. I suggest you consider it only if you’re determined to follow through no matter what gets in the way.

Well Linda it’s been an interesting conversation but before we go, would you like another cup of coffee?

Yes, thank you. I’ll take another cup.

 

About L Lee Kane

An author of seven published books that can be viewed on my website www.lindaleekane.com. I have an adult book, Murder on the Vine, The Black Madonna and A Very Special Clyde children's book for release in 2017.
This entry was posted in Writers Block and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Linda Thorne, Author

  1. lindamthorne says:

    Thank you Linda for hosting me. You have a beautiful blog and I’m honored to be here. Your coffee is especially good.

    Like

  2. Zi have a new coffee cook book. I’ll give you a new treat the next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lily W. says:

    Can’t believe you are already on to book two! Can’t wait to read book one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lindamthorne says:

    Linda, my daughter Debbie is the coffee gourmet. If you give me a coffee cook book, I want to forewarn you that I will probably re-gift it to her.

    Like

  5. lindamthorne says:

    Lily, without your expertise critiquing I may not have pulled off book one. Thank you.

    Like

  6. Dorinda Myers says:

    Linda, thanks for sharing. There are so many occupations within the amateur sleuth genre that have been done over and over (as a criminal defense attorney my profession is certainly one of those), but I have never heard of an HR Manager sleuth character. Novel idea. Sounds wonderful and a must read, although sounds like we should all steer clear of Judy Kenagy’s work places.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. katcoz says:

    This is great Linda. I love getting behind the novel author stories. I’m thrilled there is a second one in the works.

    Like

  8. lindamthorne says:

    Thanks Kathleen. I’ll be honest that I haven’t been able to get to your newest book, Entangled yet, and I hate that. Loved your first. As soon as thing settle down, I’ll read it. My second in the works is getting neglected too because of lack of time this whole summer.

    Like

  9. lindamthorne says:

    Dorinda – I hope it’s a novel idea. So far, I’ve never heard of another HR Manager turned sleuth, although that’s really what we do. We don’t try to find problems, but when they come to our attention, then the investigation into the facts must happen. Very much like police work.

    Like

  10. Brenda Gooding says:

    What a great interview! I found out things I didn’t know about you and the books!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. lindamthorne says:

    A surprise visit, Brenda, I think you have a birthday today too. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

