Kristin Durfree, Author

200Kristin Durfee grew up outside of Philadelphia where an initial struggle with reading blossomed into a love and passion for the written word.

She has also been a writer since a very young age, writing short stories and poems, though now is focusing on longer works. She is currently working on her next novel for Young Adults.

Durfee currently resides in Orlando, FL, and when not enjoying the theme parks or Florida sun, she spends most of her time with her husband and their quirky dog.

She is a member of the Florida Writers Association.

Facebook Link (she is running a Book Giveaway)

Twitter Link

Website

Cover 200FOUR CORNERS

Levi always knew he was different. The fact that he could smash a light bulb without touching it was only one clue, but he’s about to find out how special he really is…

Sought after by those in a magical land, he meets Aura, Queen of Esotera. Her kingdom is in trouble and he’s the only one who can help. But the powerful sorcerer who cursed Esotera will not give up easily. A collision of magic and fates, sealed long ago, will catapult the two into a race to save Aura’s kingdom. Will they make it in time, or will they lose everything they love, and possibly both their lives?

Barnes & Noble

Amazon

Black Opal Books


Welcome all to my Coffee Chat Room

First off thank you for joining me Kristin. I have a cup of coffee waiting for you before we start the interview. What do you take in it, or do you prefer tea?

Oh, I am definitely more of a tea person, honey and sugar please 🙂

  1. Please tell the readers about your background, where you’re from and when did you start your writing career.

I’m from a town just outside of Philadelphia, though I currently live in the Orlando area.

  1. Where did you get the idea for the ‘Four Corners” book, it’s very creative and imaginative?

I was at thanksgiving with my in-laws a number of years back and my niece was reading a book and remarked about how neat it would be to live in a fantasy type world. An image of her with a dragon popped into my head so clearly, I literally began writing that night and became obsessed with these characters. Theirra is actually based on her. I finished the first draft in four months. Though before you go being impressed, it took another four years of hard work in editing and shopping it around before it got picked up!

  1. Where did you come up with your characters names. Very inventive.

The names are a mixture of purely made up (like Aura and Kolas) and names taken based on their meaning. Levi was one of the first named characters. His name means “joined” in Hebrew. I wanted to give him a name that really reflected his role in the book and in the kingdoms, that he really is the bridge between these two worlds. Aldric means “old ruler”, again, a nod at his character. Sometimes I found the name first and waited for the character to come along that fit that meaning. So I’d say it’s about 50/50 made up and meaningful.

  1. How do you get inspired to write? Do you write daily? What’s your routine for writing (morning, afternoon, evening) . Do you set out to write a certain number of words each day?

I was doing really well about being diligent and writing for an hour every morning, but I will say, while it is so exciting releasing a book, it really cuts into my writing time! I am trying to buckle down though now with book two edits, once I have them done and it off to the publisher, I think I can focus back on writing again. I am in the midst of book three, but frankly haven’t been able to give it much attention. Though when I write, I prefer to do it in the morning with my favorite candle burning and some classical music.

  1. Tell the reader about your book, I know I have truly enjoyed reading it.

Thank you so much, I’m glad you liked it! Four Corners is the story of Aura, Queen of a magical, yet doomed, kingdom, and her search for the one person that can help her save it. At its heart, it’s the story of two young people who are asked to do more than they think they are capable of and trying to find strength in them they aren’t sure if they have. I think it’s a theme that extends to all ages and walks of life. We are constantly tested in our lives, and hopefully we can surround ourselves with supportive people that will help make us successful.

  1. What are you currently working on, in other words, give us a sneak peek of your next story.

I am currently working on the sequel to Four Corners. I don’t want to give away too much, but I will say that it happens five years in the future and we will get to see some old faces, as well as some new ones.

  1. What’s your advice to aspiring writers?

Just write! Don’t worry if it’s good or bad (it will probably fluctuate between the two!), but just keep writing. Some of the best advice ever given to me is that you can’t edit a blank page. You can always go back and fix things, but it’s so much easier if you have something to work with. And be proud of your creativity! Writing is such a solitary process, but it’s so much better if you share the experience with others. Join writing groups and connect with other writers.

  1. What’s the best thing you have come away with from being an author ?

Having a creative outlet for the stories floating around in my head! I think I would go a bit stir-crazy if I wasn’t able to write. I enjoy the escapism that writing gives me just as much as reading gives me.

Well it has been an interesting conversation but before we go, would you like another cup of coffee?

Thanks so much for having me. I’ve got some writing to do, so I sure would, anything to stay up and get everything done I need to in a day!

About Linda Lee Kane

An author of seven published books that can be viewed on my website www.lindaleekane8.com. I have an adult book, Bottoms Up and Clyde, Lost and Now Found books for release in 2017.
This entry was posted in Writers Block and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristin Durfree, Author

  1. Kristin, loved your post.

    Like

  2. Kristin, thank you so much for being my special guest. Your book is terrific

    Like

Leave a Reply

